BeatleLinks LogoNav Panel New Sites Cool Sites Top Rated Fab Forum Add A Site Link To Us Revolution Radio New Products

Go Back   BeatleLinks Fab Forum > Solo Forums > Menlove Avenue

Old Dec 30, 2003, 07:44 PM   #1
matt5
Old Brown Shoe

Default john\'s lead guitar capability?

how good was john at playing lead? I know there are a few examples of songs where he played lead. The reason why i am asking is because i am no expert in guitar playing and although he seemed competent enought and I was just wondering if there are any 'experts' out there who play guitar themselves what their opinion is.
matt5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2003, 07:50 PM   #2
JohnLennonNYC
Little Child

Default Re: john\'s lead guitar capability?

Im not exactly an "expert" but I have been playing guitar for two years. In my opinion John was very capable of being a good lead guitaritst. I dont know why he didnt. I think he wanted to have more in some songs than just guitars and drums.
JohnLennonNYC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2003, 07:55 PM   #3
matt5
Old Brown Shoe

just wanted to add that some of his accoustic stuff seems pretty good too. especially his accoustic version of stepin out.
matt5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2003, 09:58 PM   #4
lennon4
Paperback Writer

Send a message via AIM to lennon4

John's playing in 'Get Back' proves his capability of good lead work. I wish he'd done a little more, too. [img]graemlins/teeth1.gif[/img]

-lennon4
lennon4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2003, 10:42 PM   #5
dyermaker1040
Day Tripper

doesnt he play slide in george's "for you blue"? ive seen pics of him doing it, but i always thought george would be the one to do it because he played slide on john's albums didnt he?? or am i totally screwed up? anyways, whoever did slide on "for you blue" was excellent. and i think it was john.
dyermaker1040 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2003, 05:40 AM   #6
jtal909
Sun King