BeatleLinks LogoNav Panel New Sites Cool Sites Top Rated Fab Forum Add A Site Link To Us Revolution Radio New Products



Go Back   BeatleLinks Fab Forum > Solo Forums > Menlove Avenue


Reply

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Oct 04, 2007, 07:10 AM   #1
FPSHOT
Sun King
 
FPSHOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 04, 2000
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 31,563



Default IMAGINEPEACE.com - unveiling of Imagine Peace Tower

This is really special

www.IMAGINEPEACE.com

Dear Friends

Make sure you visit www.IMAGINEPEACE.com on October 9th, John Lennon's birthday, for the unveiling of the incredible IMAGINE PEACE TOWER on the isle of Videy, Reykjavik, Iceland.

Please visit the site, have a look around, IMAGINE PEACE and send your wishes to join over 495,000 others buried in capsules around the IMAGINE PEACE TOWER, dedicated to my late husband: musician, poet, artist and peace activist, John Lennon.

Please join us on October 9th at www.IMAGINEPEACE.com Wherever you are, we will all be together that day.

With the deepest love,

Yoko Ono
__________________
"Everyone should have themselves regularly overwhelmed by Nature"
- George Harrison


FPSHOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2007, 04:00 AM   #2
mari
Sun King
 
mari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 03, 2007
Location: Norwegian wood
Posts: 6,913
Default

Who will be sending wishes?
__________________
...it must have been one of them unidentified flying cupcakes.
mari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2007, 10:12 AM   #3
oldbeatlechick
Sun King
 
oldbeatlechick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 03, 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 41,803
Default

I have already sent a wish in memory of John Lennon, an inspiration to us all!
__________________
All You Need Is Love

We didn't all get into music for a job! We got into music to avoid a job, in truth - and get lots of girls.
Paul McCartney

Last edited by oldbeatlechick : Oct 05, 2007 at 10:12 AM.
oldbeatlechick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2007, 12:49 PM   #4
PepperlandFrog
Banned
 
PepperlandFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 25, 2007
Location: hikaru no go
Posts: 967
Post

*imagine peace tower
http://www.a-i-u.net/iceland06.html
PepperlandFrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 07, 2007, 11:07 AM   #5
Beatle Girl
Paperback Writer
 
Beatle Girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 18, 2006
Location: Strawberry Fields
Posts: 2,604
Smile Beatles to attend unveiling of Imagine Peace Tower

Beatles to attend unveiling of Imagine Peace Tower

Former Beatles Paul McCartney and Ringo Starr will arrive in Iceland October 5 and are scheduled to attend the Unveiling of Yoko Ono's Imagine Peace Tower on Videy Island off Reykjavk October 9, on her late husband's John Lennon's birthday.

According to mbl.is, the Beatles will stay at Htel Borg with a team of bodyguards and assistants.

Both McCartney and Starr have visited Iceland before, McCartney in 2000 with his former wife Heather Mills, and Starr in 1984 when he played with local band Studmenn.

The Imagine Peace Tower is a powerful beacon of light representing people's wishes for peace, set to shine every year between October 9, Lennon's birthday, and December 8, the anniversary of his death. Lennon would have turned 67 next October 9.
__________________
Someplace Else - Dedicated To George Harrison

Everything is clearer when you are in love - John Lennon
Beatle Girl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 07, 2007, 10:07 PM   #6
oldbeatlechick
Sun King
 
oldbeatlechick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 03, 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 41,803
Default

That is good news Beatle Girl, Paul and Ringo are doing more together these days and it's nice to see them meeting in memory of John! Thanks for posting!
__________________
All You Need Is Love

We didn't all get into music for a job! We got into music to avoid a job, in truth - and get lots of girls.
Paul McCartney
oldbeatlechick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2007, 04:30 AM   #7
Lucy
Moderator
 
Lucy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 05, 2000
Location: London
Posts: 9,749


Send a message via AIM to Lucy Send a message via MSN to Lucy
Default

Wish I could get myself there!
__________________
=^..^=
Lucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2007, 06:18 AM   #8
Asha
Sun King
 
Join Date: Nov 22, 2004
Posts: 30,458
Default

Here's a link to the site for it

http://www.imaginepeace.com/
Asha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2007, 06:53 AM   #9
Dr. Dreamer
Mr. Moonlight
 
Dr. Dreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 11, 2002
Location: Here & Now
Posts: 847

Default

Darn it! We're playing our tribute concert for John tomorrow and can't go... oh well then there's the money thing for the plane ticket- S'pose we could go in spirit, eh?
__________________
Dr. Dreamer
Dr. Dreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2007, 09:17 AM   #10
Jania Coyd
Dr. Robert
 
Jania Coyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 01, 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,485
Default

I wanna go there!
__________________
Not a bit like Cagney.

Bjrn
Jania Coyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2007, 09:42 AM   #11
lennonluvr9
Sun King
 
lennonluvr9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 13, 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 9,373
Send a message via MSN to lennonluvr9
Default

man! Let's play Who Doesnt Want to Go There? Of course I'd love to go. But as I have school and not a whole lot of money, that takes care of that.
__________________
~Celeste~
"You should have thought of that before we left the house"

"Logic?? My God, the man's talking about logic. We're talking about universal Armageddon!" Dr. McCoy, Wrath of Khan
lennonluvr9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2007, 11:07 AM   #12
mari
Sun King
 
mari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 03, 2007
Location: Norwegian wood
Posts: 6,913
Default from the website

Monday 8th October 2007
TOMORROW - UNVEILING DAY
Please join us at www.IMAGINEPEACE.com at

Oct 9th 11.45pm Anchorage
Oct 9th 12.45pm Los Angeles
Oct 9th 01.45pm Guatemala
Oct 9th 02.45 pm Chicago
Oct 9th 03.45pm New York
Oct 9th 03.45pm Montreal
Oct 9th 04.45pm Rio de Janeiro
Oct 9th 07.45pm Reykjavik
Oct 9th 08.45pm Liverpool
Oct 9th 09.45pm Europe
Oct 9th 10.45pm Baghdad
Oct 9th 11.45pm Moscow
Oct 10th 12.45amKarachi
Oct 10th 01.45am Dhaka
Oct 10th 02.45am Bangkok
Oct 10th 03.45am Shanghai
Oct 10th 04.45am Tokyo
Oct 10th 05.45am Sydney
Oct 10th 06.45am Vladivostok
Oct 10th 07.45am Suva
Oct 10th 08.45am Auckland
Oct 10th 09.45am Kiritimati
__________________
...it must have been one of them unidentified flying cupcakes.
mari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2007, 11:23 AM   #13
Asha
Sun King
 
Join Date: Nov 22, 2004
Posts: 30,458
Default

Oh ... so we can all watch it live?
Asha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2007, 12:19 PM   #14
mari
Sun King
 
mari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 03, 2007
Location: Norwegian wood
Posts: 6,913
Default more from the webbysite thingy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asha View Post
Oh ... so we can all watch it live?
The unveiling of the IMAGINE PEACE TOWER in Iceland is a private invitation-only event. Members of the public can enjoy the unveiling from mainland Reykjavik, where the clear view from Saebraut by the sculpture Solfarid is particularly recommended.

Footage of the unveiling will be shown live on RUV & Channel 2 in Iceland and later on www.IMAGINEPEACE.com
__________________
...it must have been one of them unidentified flying cupcakes.
mari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2007, 12:21 PM   #15
Loony_leo
Bulldog
 
Loony_leo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 02, 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mari View Post
The unveiling of the IMAGINE PEACE TOWER in Iceland is a private invitation-only event. Members of the public can enjoy the unveiling from mainland Reykjavik, where the clear view from Saebraut by the sculpture Solfarid is particularly recommended.

Footage of the unveiling will be shown live on RUV & Channel 2 in Iceland and later on www.IMAGINEPEACE.com
ooo! I hope we get some nice footage of Paul and Ringo and Yoko.... any word if Olivia or Dhani will attend as well?
__________________
`~`~`Tani`~`~`
Loony_leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2007, 01:54 PM   #16
Lucy
Moderator
 
Lucy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 05, 2000
Location: London
Posts: 9,749


Send a message via AIM to Lucy Send a message via MSN to Lucy
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Dreamer View Post
S'pose we could go in spirit, eh?
Yoko has said to visualize and then we can all be there together.
__________________
=^..^=
Lucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2007, 02:47 PM   #17
mari
Sun King
 
mari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 03, 2007
Location: Norwegian wood
Posts: 6,913
Default

I get off work at 9pm, so I'll make it just in time :)
__________________
...it must have been one of them unidentified flying cupcakes.
mari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2007, 03:00 PM   #18
oldbeatlechick
Sun King
 
oldbeatlechick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 03, 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 41,803
Default

8.45 I'll be home and here, so we can all visualize together at that time wherever we are!
__________________
All You Need Is Love

We didn't all get into music for a job! We got into music to avoid a job, in truth - and get lots of girls.
Paul McCartney
oldbeatlechick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2007, 03:22 PM   #19
Lucy
Moderator
 
Lucy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 05, 2000
Location: London
Posts: 9,749


Send a message via AIM to Lucy Send a message via MSN to Lucy
Default

Yeah! I will log on to the website and see what's doing!
__________________
=^..^=
Lucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2007, 05:06 PM   #20
Asha
Sun King
 
Join Date: Nov 22, 2004
Posts: 30,458
Default

I'm be at work, but if I can, I'll try to watch some!
Asha is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Advertisements

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Site Features
Search Links

  Advanced Search
Category Jump



BeatleMail

FREE E-MAIL
@ BEATLEMAIL.COM


Username


Password




New User Sign-Up!
Lost Password?
Beatles History




Donate
The costs of running our database and discussion forum are steadily rising. Any help we receive is greatly appreciated. Click HERE for more information about donating to BeatleLinks.
Extras
» Chat Room
» Current News
» Monthly Contest
» Interviews Database
» Random Site
» Banner Exchange
» F.A.Q.
» Advertise
» Credits
» Legal
» Contact Us
Copyright © 2000-2023 BeatleLinks
All Rights Reserved