BeatleLinks Fab Forum

BeatleLinks Fab Forum (http://www.beatlelinks.net/forums/index.php)
-   And Your Bird Can Sing (http://www.beatlelinks.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Ju Ju Eyeball (http://www.beatlelinks.net/forums/showthread.php?t=39548)

cuttingedgedjs Dec 17, 2009 08:13 AM

Ju Ju Eyeball

An employee of mine was on his way home from college listening to 'Come Together' and when the song came to the line 'ju ju eyeball' his girlfriend asked him what it meant. He phoned me - thinking me the 'expert' on all things Beatles (which I am far from, merely a student), and I am not sure if my answer was worthy at the time he called. I will share that answer, but would first like to ask the real experts (yeah, all of you), is there a meaning to ju ju eyeball?

Maia 66 Dec 17, 2009 04:27 PM

Well... like you, I'm a student compared to some of the real Beatle experts out there. However, I don't think there's any meaning to that phrase... I always thought of it like "stink eye" (as in "he's giving her the stink eye") because ju ju is like some sort of African magic, so ju ju eyeball would mean something like "casting a spell on someone by looking at them."

But your guess is as good as mine.

So... do one of you PhD Beatlologists know an actual answer to this? :cross2:

Reverend Rock Dec 17, 2009 08:14 PM

"Juju" is a Nigerian term. Some forms of Nigerian pop music are called "Juju Music". I don't know if that has anything at all to do with what John was up to in "Come Together".

Sometimes, there's just no explanation for John's lyrical excursions. He loved wordplay, and employed it in so many of his later Beatles lyrics.

JonnyLytnin Dec 18, 2009 05:28 AM

From Wikipedia:

Juju or Ju-Ju is a word of West African origin, derived from the French joujou (toy) [1], that refers to the supernatural power ascribed to an object; or fetish. It can also refer to the use of such objects, making it a form of witchcraft.[2]