View Full Version : i just received the strangest package...
onosideboards
Jul 11, 2003, 02:26 PM
I think someone here posted a link to The Vault:
http://beatles.mp3update.com/
a while ago. I remember going there. But today I received a package from "Mark Lewisohn" in Canada. In this package was a cassette with nice artwork. A good pic of 1968-ish Lennon on the cover, a few random beatley pics on the flap, and "beatles.mp3update.com" on the side. the inside flap lists the songs, and the web address again. they're all beatles boots or songs by apple people. including jackie lomax's "sour milk sea." amazing. even stranger was that on side A, the label reads "ono, you better trim those sideboards" in blue ink. is this creepy yet??
so i naturally have a few questions. first of all, is this THE Mark Lewisohn? secondly, how the hell did this person get my address, real name, and know my screenname? thirdly, why send me a cassette of all things? how primative.
HELP!! i just emailed the person at the website. hopefully i'll hear back.
another strange aspect is that the packaging is a piece of trimmed cardboard taped together. no bubble stuff even. WEIRD!
onosideboards
Jul 11, 2003, 02:45 PM
also, did anyone happen to see the page on that website about Take 1s???
i'm a bit suspicious...
joelcrowservo
Jul 11, 2003, 09:45 PM
Well, for one,I don't think Mark Lewisohn lives in Canada. Somebody is pulling your leg, absolutely. But how they got personal info, thats scary. I mean, I wouldnt mind someone sending me Beatle boots, but in this manner...no. How rare are the Beatle songs? Are they common boots or what? This whole thing is fishy.
ringo_rama
Jul 11, 2003, 10:10 PM
What's with the creepy (and random) artwork on the take one page?
onosideboards
Jul 11, 2003, 10:27 PM
yes, i found out from another board that lewisohn lives in england, which makes a lot more sense than ontario.
what should i do? i mean, there's two issues here. well, one potential issue of someone using lewisohn's name (though there's also a comedian or something by that name, so maybe it is fairly common). secondly, what do i do about this person getting my personal info?
i think i've heard all the beatle songs before. some are slightly different than i recall. it's all sort of random cuz he threw in the original "sweet georgia brown" right after a copule hamburg songs. side 2 has mostly white album and solo boots. i haven't listened to it all yet though.
yikes!
EasternBird
Jul 11, 2003, 10:42 PM
That is so creepy! Could it be someone you've traded with before? Or maybe they got your address from someone you've traded with? I'm really disturbed by the possibility that people might be sharing addresses like that, but that was the first explanation that came to mind.
joelcrowservo
Jul 11, 2003, 10:43 PM
The only thing about Lewishon being a common name is, that name attached to something Beatles. Too much of a coincidence.
I wonder if the package could be tracked in any way? And how much of a return address is there? If it was complete, I'd write the person back and ask what the deal was.
Freda_Peeple
Jul 12, 2003, 12:15 AM
It is creepy, but whoever sent you the package was surely playing with you by using the Mark Lewisohn name and probably didn't think of how rude it was to do so. I think EB may be right about the package being from someone you've traded with in the past or maybe even someone who got your address from another trader. I noticed that you link to Bootleg Zone from your tradelist... Are you participating in their "Free Boots" program? Either way, I hope you can find out who this mysterious character is, and in the meantime I wouldn't worry about it too much. Whomever it was simply made an error in judgement and probably meant no harm. Afterall, he did send a tape - not a dead snake, black roses, or a death threat... Not to make light of your situation! Afterall, it is unsettling to think that some stranger might have access to your mailing address, and like I wrote earlier, I do hope you find the person responsible & that whomever it is will have the sense to apologize for creeping you out like that :-\
onosideboards
Jul 12, 2003, 07:00 AM
thank you so much all of you for your help and advice. when you think about it, trading/weeding is advertising your personal info to strangers. several men i don't personally know here in town have my address. that COULD disturb me but it doesn't.
there is a complete address. and yes, i agree joel that it is too much of a coicidence. someone is playing with the name.
i've never traded with anyhone in canada, so that's ruled out.
i think my next step will be to post this on the yahoo beatlegs group, and on BZ. who knows...maybe the same thing has happened to someone else.
onosideboards
Jul 12, 2003, 09:16 AM
UPDATE:
the return address is the official mailing address of EMI/Capitol Canada.
does this make it more OK or more creepy?
EasternBird
Jul 12, 2003, 04:27 PM
I vote for "more creepy" - not only did they use a fake name, but I would assume the address is fake too. Was the package even sent from Canada? Is there any kind of postmark that matches that city/region?
I really doubt that anyone from "The Vault" could be connected to EMI/Capitol - and if they were, why would they admit it? They'd be in serious trouble if EMI knew they were offering bootlegs. And it didn't sound like anything on the tape was "exclusive" stuff that only an insider would have. I'm guessing whoever this is, they have no connection to EMI whatsoever. That is just STRANGE!!
onosideboards
Jul 12, 2003, 04:58 PM
a closer look at the post office sticker shows that it was sent from Petawawa, OHKBH1X0, Canada. some other numbers are on there but i don't know what they mean.
there was a "hidden track" on the tape. he didn't label a couple minutes of get back diaglogue.
ugh.
lennonluvr9
Jul 13, 2003, 02:33 PM
That is really creepy. One of the strangest things I've heard a awhile...
onosideboards
Jul 13, 2003, 07:50 PM
IT'S ALL OKAY NOW...
the sender has confessed to me and they meant no harm.
Moderators, could you please close this thread? This conversation really doesn't need to continue. Thanks!
Legs
Jul 13, 2003, 09:39 PM
Originally Posted By onosideboards:
Moderators, could you please close this thread? <font size="2" face="Tahoma, Arial, sans-serif">Not yet Mr. sideboards, first you're making us curious and now you wont tell us who it was?
Was it anyone from this board, which people has he/she also send a package to, did it had anything to do with the vaulth etc...
Btw I did close the other topic just posted about the Vaulth, cause it is more or less about the same as this one. Besides if you scroll down the page, Jerry also has posted a topic about the Vaulth, so anymore questions about that site can be added there and on this topic.
[ Jul 13, 2003, 10:40 PM: Message Edited By: Legs ]
EasternBird
Jul 14, 2003, 01:33 AM
Here's the question that lingers in my mind - how did this person obtain your mailing address, as well as the addresses of other Beatlelinkers?!? Is it someone that you know, or is there an otherwise reasonable explanation? Because if not, that just ain't kosher.
[ Jul 14, 2003, 02:34 AM: Message Edited By: EasternBird ]
onosideboards
Jul 14, 2003, 06:19 AM
That's MS Sideboards, Legs! images/icons/smile.gif
Yes, the sender is someone from Beatlelinks (just as i had suspected late yesterday). This person is not an avid poster and in fact hasn't been seen here for weeks. I don't really think it's necessary to give out his/her name (I honestly don't know if it's a boy or girl). But no, this is not someone I consider a Beatlelinks buddy.
The sender got my address through Yahoo! People Search. My home phone number is available through there as well. He/she also mentioned that they saw my name on bagism.com. I'm going to try to remove my name from Yahoo! today.
The sender said that the tape went out to other Beatlelinkers, including Jerry. If he is willing to disclose the culprit, so be it.
I'm not going to give out the senders screenname on here to begin a public lynching. I have let him/her know that what they did was wrong. I will not invade their privacy as they invaded my own.
However, like I told the sender, I was never offended or angry about the package. Worried, yes? Scared, not really. I now have answers to my questions and I'm satisfied. I enjoy the tape.
The sender has not specifically said they are The Vault webmaster, though when I asked if he/she got the idea for Take 1 from us, he/she said yes. However, I'm a bit miffed that he/she didn't let us know about it...at least to give credit on the site.
Legs
Jul 15, 2003, 01:20 PM
Cool no furthure explanation needed thanks MS. Sideboards. Then I'll close this topic.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.